RIP Whitney Houston

It’s a tragedy when someone so young dies. No matter who they were in life. I’ve been reading a lot of hate posts about who she was at the end of her days. Some people think she “deserved” what she got. Yes, she was a drug addict, and yes, it is said that drugs contributed to her demise, but does that reduce the sadness that her family is experiencing? Not that a facebook post from some random somebody is going to get back to her kids, but where I come from dishonoring the dead is a no-no.

I don’t know about you, but Whitney’s music was a big part of the soundtrack of my younger life. Her songs lifted me up, or evoked strong emotions during some of my most angsty teen moments, and I’m grateful for the impact her amazing voice had on my life. She had an incredible talent that had no rival and the world of music is a better place because of her.

So thank you Whitney. Thank you for “I Will Always Love You” and “I’m Every Woman”. Thank you for “I Wanna Dance with Somebody”, and “The Greatest Love of All”. I’m sad your life went so far south, and I’m sad for your kids and your husband. I thank you for the gift of song you gave us all.

Leave a comment

What do you think?

